Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2019

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Climate Change-Linked Stress Tolerance in Plants (M4)

Organizer(s) Julian Schroeder and Julia Bailey-Serres
May 13—16, 2019
Herrenhausen Palace • Hannover, Germany
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Jan 15, 2019
Abstract Deadline: Feb 13, 2019
Scholarship Deadline: Jan 15, 2019
Discounted Registration Deadline: Mar 13, 2019

Organized in collaboration with Volkswagen Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Current and anticipated impacts of climate change and atmospheric gases on water availability and weather extremes affect the production of crops that provide food and fiber to meet the growing needs of humanity. Innovative research on crops, related wild species and model plant species is enabling the identification of stress signaling, metabolic and developmental strategies that limit yield loss in zones with increased climate stress and variability. The use of functional genomics to dissect abiotic stress sensing and signaling networks and the downstream adjustments in metabolism and development continue to provide solutions for crop improvement. These advances are accelerated by tools such as genome editing and use of synthetic biology to fine-tune key pathways. Moreover, advances in genomics and GWAS approaches provide powerful platforms towards identifying new genes and mechanisms for increasing plant vigor while limiting yield losses in agriculture. New advances in physiological and molecular phenotyping and recognition of synergistic multigene combinations that provide stress resiliency without limiting productivity promise to enable rapid deployment of advantageous genetic combinations. This conference will bring together experts pursuing advances on the cutting edge of climate change-linked stress tolerance in plants and provide a dynamic interactive setting to map future challenges and solutions.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Israel Maruri-López
CCG-Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

Diane Wang
University at Buffalo, USA

Arpita Yadav
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, India

Volkswagen Stiftung Recipients
Funded by Volkswagen Stiftung

Gbolagade Benjamin Adesiji
University of Ilorin, Nigeria

Cecile Annie Ewane
University of Yaoundé, Cameroon

Itzell Euridice Hernandez Sanchez
Max Planck Institute, Germany

Betsy Nkechi Izuogu
University of Ilorin, Nigeria

Adanna Ogochukwu Mgbojikwe
National Biosafety Management Agency Nigeria, Nigeria

Pamela Anahí Ribone
Cambridge University, UK

Herbert Okechukwu Stanley
University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria