Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2020

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Tuberculosis: Science Aimed at Ending the Epidemic (EK10)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Tuberculosis: Immunity and Immune Evasion (A2)

Organizer(s) Joel Ernst, Jennifer Philips and Daniel L. Barber
January 16—20, 2020
Eldorado Hotel & Spa • Santa Fe, NM USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Sep 24, 2019
Abstract Deadline: Oct 16, 2019
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 24, 2019
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 19, 2019

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Tuberculosis remains the most common fatal infectious disease worldwide due to the absence of a sufficiently effective vaccine. Two critical barriers to the development of an effective TB vaccine are the incomplete understanding of the mechanisms of protective immunity to TB, and of the mechanisms of immune evasion by M. tuberculosis. The interactions among speakers and attendees at this conference will promote collaborations between scientists with complementary expertise who work in geographically distinct institutions, including those in high TB burden regions. This conference will present new findings on mechanisms of protective immunity to M. tuberculosis, and promote dialogue between immunologists and scientists in different areas of expertise to fill gaps in knowledge. Participants will also discuss advances in TB vaccine development and vaccine immunology. Finally, this conference will cover advances in other fields of immunology and other infectious diseases characterized by pathogen persistence, which will help to inform development of effective TB vaccines.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Shi-Hsia Hwa
Africa Health Research Institute, South Africa

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Susana Benet
Irsicaixa, Spain

Robyn Emery
University of Washington, USA

Megan Files
University of Texas Medical Branch, USA

Ben Gern
Seattle Children's Research Institute, USA

Rujapak Sutiwisesak
Ubon Ratchathani University, Thailand

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Kedir Abdella Abdulsemed
Jimma University, Ethiopia

Mohamed Ahmed
Africa Health Research Institute, South Africa

Diana Ayinpokbila Akila
University of Health and Allied Sciences, Ghana

Victor Oluwatoyin Akinseye
Augustine University Ilara-Epe, Nigeria

Funmilola Abidemi Ayeni
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Debapriya Bhattacharya
Siksha O Anusandhan University, India

Fatoumatta Darboe
Medical Research Council, The Gambia Unit, Gambia

Osagie Aiwerioghene Eribo
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Samreen Fatima
Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Elizabeth Andrea Garcia
National Institute of Agricultural Technology, Argentina

Lona Gcanga
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Melanie Genoula
Instituto de Medicina Experimental CONICET-ANM, Argentina

Jariya Hanthamrongwit
Mahidol University, Thailand

Neharika Jain
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, India

Mulualem Tadesse Jano
Jimma University, Ethiopia

Rogers Eliphaz Kamulegeya
Makerere University, Uganda

Chetkar Chandra Keshavam
University of Delhi, India

Khanyisile Kgoadi
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Jeremiah Khayumbi
CDC Centre for Global Health Research/Maseno University, Kenya

Carine Kunsevi-Kilola
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Mohau Steven Makatsa
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Masilo Charles Manyelo
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

José Luis Marín
Instituto de Medicina Experimental IMEX-CONICET, Argentina

Michele Ann Miller
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Ravi Prasad Mukku
Center for Cellular and Molecular Biology, India

Lucy Mupfumi
Botswana Harvard AIDS Institute, Botswana

Rehema Mukami Mwaniki
Centers for Disease Control, Kenya

Mariam Nakabuye
Makerere University, Uganda

Anna Ritah Namuganga
Joint Clinical Research Centre, Uganda

Rofhiwa Nesamari
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Caleb Nwongbouwoh Muefong
Medical Research Council Unit-The Gambia, Gambia

Rym Ouni
Institut Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

Nagender Rao Rameshwaram
Centre for DNA Fingerprinting & Diagnostics, India


Sadhna Sharma
Miranda House, University of Delhi, India

Tarina Sharma
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India

Adriano Q. Silva
Instituto Gonçalo Moniz / Fiocruz, Brazil

Patrick Fernandes da Silva
School of Medicine of Ribeirão Preto, Brazil

Esther Uwimaana
Makerere University Lung Institute, Uganda

Lin Wang
Shanghai Pulmonary Hospital, China