Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2019

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

The Malaria Endgame: Innovation in Therapeutics, Vector Control and Public Health Tools (G1)

Organizer(s) Thierry Diagana, Philip Welkhoff and Flaminia Catteruccia
October 30—November 2, 2019
Hilton Addis Ababa • Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Jul 9, 2019
Abstract Deadline: Jul 30, 2019
Scholarship Deadline: Jul 9, 2019
Discounted Registration Deadline: Aug 29, 2019

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Malaria is most prevalent in the tropical belt and many malaria endemic countries have now engaged in elimination programs. However, we are facing a public health crisis because we have lost many of the public health tools that enabled the progress we have made to date. Many drugs are useless in most areas and resistance is threatening even artemisinin-based combination therapy (ACT). Diagnostics, bed-nets and insecticides are also losing their effectiveness and the Plasmodium vivax (P. vivax) parasite is finding new ways to transmit in Duffy negative patients. At the same time, there are multiple emerging threats such as artemisinin drug resistance, the rise of P. vivax malaria prevalence, and the discovery of the parasite Plasmodium knowlesi (P. knowlesi) in humans. However, there are some interesting developments such as deploying older suboptimal drugs in new, innovative and targeted control approaches like seasonal malaria chemoprevention (SMC) or intermittent preventive treatment of pregnant women/ infants (PTi/p). There are new drugs on the horizon that have pharmacological properties compatible with single dose cures and could prove to be powerful tools in the fight against malaria. For example, mass drug administration has demonstrated substantial impact as an intervention for Plasmodium elimination. By learning from recent successes in malaria elimination, epidemiological models of malaria transmission can be updated, and the impact of new interventions will critically inform the malaria endgame strategy. The conference is organized around three themes: defeating resistance (both to drugs and to insecticides), leveraging data science to better understand disease transmission and innovation in vector control strategies. This program will assess the current threats and gaps in our malaria armamentarium to enable malaria elimination and discuss the emerging innovative approaches for antimalarial drug discovery and development.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Donnie Mategula
Malawi-Liverpool-Wellcome Trust, Malawi

Kristine Werling
Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Atul ..
National Institute of Malaria Research, India

Oyindamola Olajumoke Abiodun
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Rajeshwara Achur
Kuvempu University, India

George Olusegun Ademowo
Institute for Advanced Medical Research and Training, Nigeria

Funmilayo I. Deborah Afolayan
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Koffi Mensah Ahadji-Dabla
University of Lomé, Togo

Uchenna Blessing Alozieuwa
Veritas University Abuja, Nigeria

Lilian Mbaisi Ang'ang'o
International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology, Kenya

Temesgen Ashine
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Shehu S. Awandu
Radboud University Medical Centre, Netherlands

Aissata Barry
Centre National de Recherche et de Formation sur le Paludisme, Burkina Faso

Felix Abekah Botchway
University of Ghana, Ghana

Stravensky Terence Boussougou Sambe
University of Tübingen, Gabon

Modupe Iretiola Builders
Bingham University, Nigeria

María Julia Dantur-Juri
CONICET-Fundación Miguel Lillo, Argentina

Tais N. de Sousa
René Rachou Institute, Brazil

Adilson José DePina
University Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar - SénégalEarle, Cape Verde

Yehenew Asemamaw Ebstie
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Deepika Fernando
University of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Abebe Fola
Purdue University, USA

Samuel N. Gachuhi
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Erika Francisca Garrido
Corporación Universitaria Remington, Colombia

Wakweya Chali Gerba
Armauer Hansen Research Institute/Radboudumc, Ethiopia

Lemu Golassa
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Priya Gupta
National Institute of Malaria Research, India

Ouambo Fotso Herve
Chantal Biya Research Center, Cameroon

Stella Amarachi Ihim
University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nigeria

Nalova Hermia Ikome
Institute of Medical Research and Medicinal Plant Studies, Cameroon

Maurice Ayamba Itoe
Harvard. T.H. Chan School of Public Health, USA

Nicole K. Jabo
University of Global Health Equity, Rwanda

Titilayo Omolara Johnson
University of Jos, Nigeria

Alebachew M. Kebede
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Constance Mawunyo Korkor
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Seena Kumari
National Institute of Malaria Research, India

Raja Babu Singh Kushwah
Tata Institute for Genetics and Society, India

Dickson Mambwe
University of Cape Town, Department of Chemistry, South Africa

Sandeu Maurice Marcel
Centre for Research in Infectious Diseases, Cameroon

Agersew Alemu Mengist
University of Melbourne, Australia

Mokhitli Morake
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Sulaiman Adebayo Nassar
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Omonike Oluyemisi Ogbole
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Ehimwenma Sheena Omoregie
University of Benin, Nigeria

Harris Onywera
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Bose Etaniamhe Orimadegun
University of Ibadan, College of Medicine, Nigeria

Razaki Ossè
Entomological Research Center, Benin

Nancy O. Quashie
Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, Ghana

Abeba Gebretsadik Reda
Ethiopian Public Health institute, Ethiopia

Komal Raj Rijal
Tribhuvan University, Nepal

Carola J. Salas
US Naval Medical Research Unit No. 6, Peru

Brian B. Tarimo
Ifakara Health Institute, Tanzania

Agatha Adaora Ugwu
University of Nigeria, Nigeria

Camilla Valente Pires
University of South Florida, USA

Tamirat Gebru Woldearegai
Institute of Tropical Medicine, Germany

Redemptah Ambogo Yeda
Walter Reed, Kenya