Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2022

Here are the related meetings in 2023:
B Cell Biology in the Context of Infectious Diseases, Autoimmunity and B Cell Cancers (Z5)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

B Cell-T Cell Collaboration: Regulation and Dysregulation (T4)

Organizer(s) Victor L.J. Tybulewicz, Kai-Michael Toellner, Julie Zikherman and Pamela L. Schwartzberg
April 3—6, 2022
Herrenhausen Palace • Hannover, Germany
Abstract Deadline: Jan 11, 2022
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 7, 2021
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 2, 2022

Sponsored by BioLegend, Inc. and Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited In Collaboration with Volkswagen Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
B cell-T cell collaboration leads, via the germinal center reaction, to the generation of B cell memory and long-lived affinity-matured protective antibodies. This key immune response has been extensively studied, and, as a result, we have an increasingly refined understanding of the ligands, receptors, and intra-cellular pathways that are involved. However, many aspects of this remarkable process as it plays out in infections, vaccine responses, and chronic immunological diseases remain unknown. In particular, we still do not understand how B cells integrate complex antigenic and co-stimulatory inputs over time to make critical cell fate decisions, including the process of clonal selection in the germinal center as well as memory B cell and long-lived plasma cell differentiation. We do not fully appreciate the spectrum of ‘non-canonical’ B cell responses to various chronic and acute infections, especially those occurring in tissues rather than secondary lymphoid organs. And finally, many unanswered questions remain about normal and abnormal B cell responses to commensal flora, allergic antigens, and self-antigens that are essential to address if we hope to understand dysregulated B cell immune responses in inflammatory, allergic, and autoimmune disease. This meeting brings together scientists focused on both the B cell and the Tfh cell contributions to humoral immunity in order to share innovative research focused on addressing this broad set of questions. We aim to identify areas of future investigation, foster collaboration, and collectively generate the knowledge base required to design better vaccines and more precise strategies to treat diseases of immune dysregulation.

View Meeting Program


Cheung Family Charitable Giving Fund Scholarship Recipients

Emily Bettini
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Phillip P. Domeier
Benaroya Research Institute, USA

Vassilis Glaros
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Liam Kealy
Monash University, Australia

Ndoricyimpaye E. Larissa
UCL, Rwanda

Juhee Pae
Rockefeller University, USA

Tim Rollenske
University of Bern, Switzerland

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Andrew S. Baessler
University of Utah, USA

Etienne Farquhar
Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Australia

Avia Watson
Tel-Aviv University, Israel

The Moos-Miller Fund Scholarship Recipients

Raphael Reyes
University of Texas Health San Antonio, USA