Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2020

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Tissue Immunity (A6)

Organizer(s) Bana Jabri, Daniel Mucida and Ramnik Xavier
January 26—29, 2020
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boulder • Boulder, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Sep 26, 2019
Abstract Deadline: Oct 24, 2019
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 26, 2019
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 21, 2019

Sponsored by AbbVie Inc., Akebia Therapeutics, BioLegend, Inc., Merck & Co., Inc. and Pfizer Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
How tissues integrate host-microbial signals and regulate immune responses has a critical impact on health and disease. However, our understanding of tissue immunity is limited because of difficulties in accessing the different organs and also due to the inherent complexity and individuality of the cellular circuits present in different tissues. This conference will bring together scientists in the fields of mucosal immunology, neurology, microbiology, metabolism and systems biology. The conference will discuss (i) the diversity of tissue resident T cell subsets and their function and regulation, (ii) the regulation and role of mucosal B cell responses, (iii) the role of the nervous system in the regulation of tissue immunity, (iii) how tissues integrate metabolic and microbial cues to determine which type of immune response to mount, (iv) the existence of innate memory and its role in pathophysiology, and (v) new approaches in the study of tissue immunity. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of the conference and its focus on tissue immunity across organs and cell types, the conference will give investigators a broad perspective on tissue immunity and encourage them to go beyond the traditional disciplinary boundaries. An interactive workshop engage will engage industrial partners to define new approaches to prevent and treat inflammatory disorders and cancer and will highlight new frontiers in tissue immunity, cellular networks and inter-tissue communication in health and disease.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Nicholas Bessman
Weill Cornell Medicine, USA

Michael G. Constantinides
NIAID, National Institutes of Health, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Graham Barlow
Stanford University, USA

Lucie Loyal
BCRT/Charite, Germany

Duncan McKenzie
Francis Crick Institute, UK

Maeva Metz
Weill Cornell Medical College, USA

Zuri Sullivan
Yale University, USA